Wednesday, June 26, 2013

A review of Daz & WC's "West Coast Gangsta Sh*t"

Allow me to share a few things prior to my review of this new album. I've always been a fan of Daz (formerly known as Dat N**** Daz) since the days of "The Chronic". Alongside partner in rhyme Kurupt (as Tha Dogg Pound), Daz was decent on the mic, however, his real talent is behind the boards, as he's been one of the most underrated West Coast producers since 1995's "Dogg Food". The only solo album in his discography I've checked out is 1998's "Retaliation, Revenge, & Get Back", which was good. It's nice to him still active in hip hop.

WC, on the other hand, well, let's just say I've liked him in small doses here and there. I have heard his album only album with DJ Aladdin (also known as "Low Profile") titled "We're In This Together", his WC And The Maad Circle albums, "Ain't A Damn Thang Changed" and "Curb Servin", were good, but I feel his best contributions were on the Westside Connection's debut "Bow Down", along with Ice Cube and Mack 10. I honestly haven't checked out any of his solo material after "The Shadiest One" (your recommendations are welcome, lol) and the guest appearances I've heard from him were largely good. Much like Daz, I respect him for his contributions and longevity in hip hop, not to mention it's also nice to see him active in hip hop after all these years. I'm always happy to see artists who have been in the game for a long time still release quality material, and considering that this is a collaboration album, it should be good. (Surprisingly, NONE of the songs on this album were produced by Daz.)

1. West Coast Gangsta Shit (Produced By: Touch Tone & Broadway)
This apply titled banger begins this in a nice, "West Coast gangsta" type way. Daz and WC come hard, showing they haven't lost too many steps along the way. 4 out of 5

2. Stay Out The Way (featuring Snoop Dogg, produced by The Arsonists)
Wow, I like this one right here, true West Coast sound all the way. Snoop just does the hook on this one, and it's SNOOP DOGG for this, not Snoop Lion, and he does an effective job like Daz and WC. Stay out the way indeed. 4 out of 5

3. Don't Call It a Comeback (Produced By: Kuddie Fresh)
"Don't call it a comeback, we been here for years". That is definitely true and certainly more than detailed upon in this banger. 4 out of 5

4. When The Shit Goes Down (Produced By: Beanz N Kornbread)
Don't let that rather odd production team name throw you off, lol, as Beanz N Kornbread deliver a nice, West Coast sound for Daz and WC to cut through. 4 out of 5

5. Late Nite (Produced By: KJ Conteh)
It all goes down late at night, no question, and one can only imagine what takes place in Cali. Oh yeah, this is five straight tight songs. 4 out of 5

6. Blam Blam (Produced By: David Gold & Dae One)
This was quite the fast paced song, about what you would expect when the "guns go off". Still gangsta. 3.5 out of 5

7. Don't Get Wet (Produced By: Battlecat)
Well, after 6 straight bangers, we arrive at a "cool down" moment. It's not bad overall, and again, about what you would expect on a song like this. 3 out of 5

8. Roll & Smoke (Produced By: Broadway & TJofthewest)
This joint right here is for the ladies and obviously for the smokers, and if it's one thing that West Coast artists have always been good at, it's making songs that cater to the smokers. I'm not one, lol, but this song was decent. 3.5 out of 5

9. What Cha Gone Do (Produced By: Trippy Keyz)
Although this song title has been used in some form A LOT for years, it's good but nothing more, featuring a fairly ok sample of Luniz' classic "I Got 5 On It". 3 out of 5

10. Time Will Prevail (Produced By: Amplified)
In the end, time will prevail, and I agree with that, and this is likely the most uplifting song you're going to find on this album. 4 out of 5

11. Dubs In the Air (Produced By: DJ 2 High)
The nice drums provided by 2 High brings this one to life, and you can hear the energetic tone from Daz and WC throughout. 3.5 out of 5

12. Alcohol & Drugs (Produced By: Rob Tee)
Again, don't let the song title fool you. What Daz and WC do here is use alcohol and drugs as a metaphor, sort of like what Mobb Deep & Q-Tip did with "Drink Away The Pain (Situations), but only this time around it's more gangsta. 3.5 out of 5

13. Moves I Make (featuring Butch Cassidy, produced by DJ 2 High)
I could've pictured Snoop making an appearance here, but he was fine on the hook for "Stay Out The Way". Making moves, I hear that. 3 out of 5

14. Outro - Gangsta Talk
I like this outro, as Daz and WC show love to one another to close out this album, along with them telling to other to say what's up to Ice Cube and Snoop Dogg, respectively.

Well, this album turned out to be quite what I expected. It's your standard, not typical, West Coast, gangsta project. I don't consider this cliche at all, mostly because not only did I get what I expected, but they're sticking to what they know/do best, not compromising their style or trying to fit in with today's material, and I respect them for it. Don't get me wrong, Daz and WC aren't bringing anything new to the table, but considering how things are in hip hop today, this is refreshing, especially when it comes to West Coast hip hop. I'll give this one a solid 4 star rating and recommendation. I'll be copping it! Much love to all involved.

No comments:

Post a Comment